National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco. It is a public university in Argentina with headquarters in the city of Comodoro Rivadavia, Province of Chubut. The basic functions of the UNPSJB respond to regional development.


In 1972 the national government, as part of the Taquini plan for restructuring higher education, promoted the creation of a national university in the region, and on April 23, 1973, passed Law 20,296 that created the National University of Patagonia. The offer of the university and that of the private one showed a great overlap, which gave rise to multiple conflicts in the following years until in 1979 it was decided to unify them.

Creation of the university

The university was created by Law No. 22,173 of February 25, 1980, which brings together two pre-existing entities in a single body: one state, the National University of Patagonia, and another private denominational, the University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco. A year later, the government of the Province of Chubut transferred the University Institute of Trelew (IUT), until then dependent on the National University of the South, a city that already had a rich cultural tradition from the Institute of Higher Studies (IDES). In 1984, the Ushuaia and Puerto Madryn offices were created, to which the Esquel office was later added.

Chronological data

In 2005, the Jardín del Árido Patagónico, a botanical garden dependent on the Biology Department of this University, was opened to the public.

By the beginning of 2009 the university registered more entrants. According to the university authorities, this demonstrates, in a first reading, the effects of a gradual improvement in the quality of the offer of the academic units and of a better territorial insertion. The increase, if the growth percentage of the number of applicants for admission in each of the UNPSJB settlement sites is analyzed, had a disparate behavior: from 100% for the Puerto Madryn and Ushuaia sites, 50% in Comodoro Rivadavia, 27% in Esquel and 2% in the Trelew branch.

In May 2009, the debate began that ended with the separation of the Ushuaia headquarters, which after pressure from Fuegian deputies from the ARI and budget problems, became the National University of Tierra del Fuego. Which came to fruition in 2011.

For 2013 it was chosen along with 25 other universities to collaborate with INDEC with the data of the inflation index.

Mission and functions

The UNPSJB’s mission is to create, preserve and transmit universal culture, cooperate in the process of cultural, social and economic development of the Patagonian region and contribute to its socio-cultural integration and consolidation. Since its constitution, the basic functions of the university have been organized around regional development: study and solution of Patagonian problems.


Construction of an offer of careers in accordance with the disciplines related to themes of its poles of development and attention to the formation of appropriate teaching and professional staff for the region.

Faculties and headquarters

  • Humanities and Social Sciences.
  • natural Sciences
  • Legal Sciences
  • Economic Sciences
  • engineering


Commodore Rivadavia. Headquarters, seat of the rector and important development in chemical, industrial and hydrocarbon sciences.

Trelew: Headquarters of the Dean of Economic Sciences, remarkable development in economic sciences and second in importance.

Puerto Madryn: Headquarters recognized nationally for its development in biological sciences.

Esquel: The only seat of the Chubut mountain range.

Library and museum

The Central Library is located at the National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco- Km 4 of Comodoro Rivadavia – Chubut – Argentina. It has the character of a University Library, providing services to all students, teachers and non-teachers of the Comodoro Rivadavia, Trelew, Pto. Madryn, Esquel and Ushuaia Headquarters of the San Juan Bosco National University of Patagonia. And to any person who proves his identity, respecting the regulations in force.

Office hours: Monday to Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. and from 3:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.


The university owns the National Petroleum Museum which opened its doors on December 13, 1987. On August 11, 1993, he is transferred to the National University of Patagonia, due to the privatization of YPF. In April 1997, it was declared an Asset of historical and cultural interest, through Law No. 24,799. Today it is considered one of the 3 largest of its kind in the world. The National Petroleum Museum is located on the property where well No. 2 is located, where oil emerged for the first time in Argentine state territory, which is why it is constituted as a Site Museum.

National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco (Argentina)

National University of Patagonia San Juan Bosco (Argentina)
Tagged on: